C-Class (W203) 2001-2007, C160, C180, C200, C220, C230, C240, C270, C280, C300, C320, C230K, C350, Coupe

W203 C180 Drive Jerk Problem

Search this Thread

Rate Thread

Old 12-04-2020, 04:09 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
W203
W203 C180 Drive Jerk Problem

Hi everybody!

I am so glad to have found these forums as I am already pretty much fed up and exhausted in finding a solution to my problem.

Recently I bought 2006 model C180 Sedan. I have no previous experience with any German cars as I have always owned Japanese cars in the past.

The problem with my C180 is that whenever the RPM is in between 1100-1400, the car starts to jerk, sometimes it jerks just once, at other times 3-4 times and as soon as the RPM goes above 1500, jerking stops.

Most importantly, the car jerks because it suddenly loses 200-300 RPM on the engine. I have uploaded a video to youtube, if you have 90 sec of spare time pls take a look here:

What I have noticed:

1. Engine temperature (cold or warm) has no effect, jerks persist in both conditions
2. Accelerating or decelerating, whenever the engine is in the said RPM range, jerks can be felt
3. Problem persists in both auto and manual driving modes
4. Even if driving in 1st gear, the car keeps jerking in the said RPM range. So I am pretty sure that jerks are not caused by gear shifting

What the mechanic has already tried:

1. Service of throttle body
2. Replacement of all three foundations
3. Replacement of transmission valve body

But the problem doesn't go away. These drive jerks are making me look silly and funny whenever I am stuck in traffic or a signal, LOL.

Please let me know if you need any further details. Thanks a lot for your time.
Old 12-04-2020, 06:04 AM

Received 13 Likes on 13 Posts
Bicycle, 2004 c200k
Hello, have you tried turning "dyno mode" (in a hidden menu) AND esp off? does it still happen in S mode (C starts at 2nd gear)? Do the jerks happen when you are reversing? Did you have any error codes?