C-Class (W204) 2008 - 2014: C180K, C200K, C230, C280, C300, C350, C200CDI, C220CDI, C320CDI

k&n filter

Search this Thread

Rate Thread

Old 02-25-2008, 04:39 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
c350 sport 2008
k&n filter

So yes yes yes, i am a newbie. My question for you peeps is very simple, has anyone upgraded there air filter to a K&N FILTER? the reason why i ask is ive heard that once you clean your filter and add the oil to the filter that it damages our sensor?

-Lare B
Old 02-25-2008, 06:17 PM

06 CLS55 AMG
Yes and no... As most everyone is aware, K&N's utilize a special spray on oil that aids in the filtering process. Some have reported that this oil can damage such sensors as the MASS Air & IAT sensors and leave unwanted residue along the intake track. When a K&N is used correctly (and oiled correctly) this is usually never a problem, but what happens more times than normal is that when it's time to clean out the filter (wash it down and re oil it), the consumer or end user (mechanic) uses WAY to much oil. The filter becomes overly saturated and this is when the problems occur. That excess oil drips off the filter and is sucked through the intake track and that's when you can harm sensors and such. K&N's from the factory (out of the box) come preoiled and very rarely pose problems, because their oiled properly....

So, what you need to do is just pay close attention to the instructions K&N provides when it's time to clean and oil the filter. If you do it right, you'll have no problems. If you're worried, you can always opt to purchase a high-flow dry element filter (no oil), and yes they do flow as well as K&N's (if not better in some applications), and yes you can reuse them...
Old 02-25-2008, 06:34 PM

c350 sport 2008
thanks for the info!! ducati!!!
Old 02-25-2008, 06:43 PM
Out Of Control!!

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
1999 C280 Previous / 2008 E350
Originally Posted by DucatiGuy