C-Class (W204) 2008 - 2014: C180K, C200K, C230, C280, C300, C350, C200CDI, C220CDI, C320CDI
Old 06-04-2015, 07:33 PM
How-Tos on this Topic
Last edit by: IB Advertising
See related guides and technical advice from our community experts:

Browse all: Brake Guides
Print Wikipost

DIY- rear brake pad replacement

Search this Thread

Rate Thread

Old 04-08-2010, 02:15 AM

Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts
C350
DIY- rear brake pad replacement

So i got around to replacing the rear brake pads in my 2008 C350 today. Oddly my rear pads ran low before my front pads, I expected it to be the fronts to go first since most of my experience with other cars has been that way. But I will outline the steps to replace the rear brake pads below. I did not replace the rotors this time around and I have not changed the front pads yet either. Please note that I am not a mechanic or certified to work on cars in any way so please read the following and work on your car at your own risk.

The procedure to replace the rear pads was quite simple and if you have ever done it before, it will probably take you an hour after reading this. I have installed Duralast Gold pads which have a limited lifetime warranty from Autozone they cost about $50, the dealer wanted $200 for the parts and labor, here you can do it for about $50 and one hr. of your time. Oh, also please note that I was close to setting off my brake sensor but it did not hit the rotor yet, so I didnt have to replace mine, but you may have to replace yours. Unfortunately, I did not take picture of the procedure, but I will try to be as descriptive an verbose as possible.

Tools that you will need:
17mm lug wrench
floor jack
jack stand
wheel chock
7mm allen wrench
flat head screwdriver
caliper spreader tool
brake quiet paste
new brake pads.
new brake wear sensor (if needed)
1/2" torque wrench & 17" socket

1. loosen the lug nuts on one of your rear passenger wheel (this side has the wear sensor)