C-Class (W204) 2008 - 2014: C180K, C200K, C230, C280, C300, C350, C200CDI, C220CDI, C320CDI

Keeping My C350 Beautiful in SF (Or any other dense city, I suppose)

Search this Thread

Rate Thread

Old 03-26-2011, 07:27 AM

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
2008 C350
Keeping My C350 Beautiful in SF (Or any other dense city, I suppose)

Hey Guys,

I'm a software engineer, currently living in paradise (Siesta Key, Sarasota FL).

For many career oriented reasons, for both myself and the future Mrs. Encoder, we're moving, nearly certainly to San Francisco, but other tech-intensive cities haven't been entirely ruled out.

Right now I've got my C350, she's got a throwaway car, a Kia.

Here's my dilemma... I'm not yet sold on living downtown but we're leaning that way. But of the 2br places in our budget (up to $3000), i've not seen a single one with 2 parking spaces. They have either one or none.

So maybe we get rid of the kia, that's the thinking.

But.... It's nice having a car to drive places where I don't like taking the mercedes.

Here's my real issue, though....

The conventional wisdom is often, said with a chuckle, "learn to tolerate all the dents and scrapes on your bumbers and fenders because people can't park and everybody is packed-in"

Oohhhhh ****. No. No. No.

So tell me any SF guys: What does a car lover do? I baby this thing. I spent 3 hours last week meticulously cleaning the door/hood/trunk jambs even though they were already cleaner than most peoples exterior.

Do we use the Kia for all intra-city driving and parking? (Or better yet, just a bike) and I park my benz in a garage somewhere? Do we just ditch the downtown living and get a cheaper suburban place in the valley? (i don't mind the commute but also don't mind living in Mountain View / Sunnyvale / Etc).

What's gonna happen to my baby when I move?

Thanks !!

Shane
Old 03-26-2011, 08:04 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
W204 C350