C-Class (W204) 2008 - 2014: C180K, C200K, C230, C280, C300, C350, C200CDI, C220CDI, C320CDI

Check left rear sidemarker lamp BUT two lamps don't light

Search this Thread

Rate Thread

Old 08-13-2012, 01:23 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
2010 MB C300 Sport
Check left rear sidemarker lamp BUT two lamps don't light

Just bought a 2010 C300 (I'm a newbie to MB) and as we were driving off we noticed the top half of our left rear tail light was out so we grabbed our salesman. He said "oh maybe just a loose bulb" and tapped on the outside. When we turned the car back on the light was working so, yeah, a loose bulb. (note: it was 9:30pm and they had closed at 9pm)
Car is still under warranty so we had no real worries.

Except, it wasn't a loose bulb.

We got home and intermittently we get a "Check left rear sidemarker lamp", but almost always at night, during the day it's rare to see it. (duh: light isn't checked until it's used is it?)

But, it's not only the SIDE MARKER LAMP, it's also the TOP TAIL/FOG LAMP that's out. But I don't get a TAIL LAMP out message at all.

Here is what people see when they follow my beautiful Mercedes:

So I thought I would reseat the bulbs and the plug and fix it. And surprise, that didn't work, so off to buy two new bulbs.

This is where I'm spooked. Replacing both new bulbs didn't fix it either AND I'm finding some possibly troubling changes. This is what I found when I opened the tail light: UNEXPECTED WIRES AND MISSING TURN SIGNAL BULB!

After market LED lights on a car with electrical problems UNDER WARRANTY.
NOW I notice the rear LED turn signals:

1. Please - need help from somebody that knows, if I bring this in to have it diagnosed and repaired has this voided the warranty? We did call and check the VIN before purchase and they said the car was still under warranty but I can't prove that if they change their minds.