C-Class (W204) 2008 - 2014: C180K, C200K, C230, C280, C300, C350, C200CDI, C220CDI, C320CDI

Is MB CPO worth it?

Search this Thread

Rate Thread

Old 06-09-2013, 06:31 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
C350
Is MB CPO worth it?

I hope this is in the right forum... I'm a newbie.

Debating on two C350 models right now. Hoping you guys can help me decide.

First one is a 2008 with 57k miles on it. Basically has everything. Top nav/multimedia package, HID lights, rear sun shade, AMG wheels, etc. (I don't know the exact package names but pretty sure it has everything you can get on it). This one does NOT have any warranty at all with it (private seller).

The other one is a 2009 with 35k miles on it. Doesn't have the good multimedia system but has a basic nav system. Doesn't have HID lights or the rear sunscreen. This one is at the MB dealer so it has the CPO inspection or whatever and comes with a 1 year warranty. It is $4700 more though.

So... question is. Is a car 1 year newer, with 20k less miles, and a CPO warranty worth $4700 more even though it doesn't have as many options?

Personally I'm leaning towards the non-CPO car just because it has all the options and is a lot less. Are there any major things that go wrong around 60k miles? Any reason for me to definitely get a warranty?

Thanks!
Old 06-09-2013, 06:41 PM
MBWorld Fanatic!

Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts
C63 AMG
I would probably test drive them first. Lower miles is always better and warranty is a plus. The nav and multimedia can be retrofitted.
Old 06-09-2013, 07:31 PM
MBWorld Fanatic!

Received 57 Likes on 36 Posts
Another round of ICE
Take the 09. There seems to be anecdotal data that in the second year in the US (09), the car was improved, chassis recalibrated, and there have been fewer failures on some components. That, plus the coverage and mileage make this a better long-term value.
Old 06-10-2013, 02:49 PM
MBWorld Fanatic!

Received 78 Likes on 52 Posts
2010 c300