C-Class (W204) 2008 - 2014: C180K, C200K, C230, C280, C300, C350, C200CDI, C220CDI, C320CDI

Electronic Steering Lock failure - DIY fix, Save thousands $

Search this Thread

Rate Thread

Old 07-02-2014, 01:00 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
C300 Luxury
Electronic Steering Lock failure - DIY fix, Save thousands $

Hi there,

My 2008 C300 with 90,000KM started to show ESL failure symptom 6 months ago after parking in my garage 4 weeks. It won't start intermittently, just like some members mentioned in this forum.

The symptom was gone after two week's daily commuting.

Two months ago, I decided to replace the rear brake pads and bleed brake fluid. After removing the jack in the trunk, I forgot to close the trunk and all the lights in the trunk were on.

It took me 4 hours to finish those brake jobs.( I know, I am just an amateur DIYer.)

Suddenly, the ESL failure symptom returned. Fortunately, after trying couple times, my car started.

4 weeks ago, I was shopping for some hand tools in my community's yard sales. After several short distance drives, my car won't start. I had tried dozen times but no luck.

All I can hear was little ticking sound came from the steering wheel after putting the fob key in.

I called Mercedes dealer in my area, a Service Adviser told me to tow the car in and they will do the diagnosis. I asked the cost to replace ESL, the SA said "It depends on how serious the problem is, if it's ESL and EIS, normally couple thousands."

I remembered one member in this forum mentioned that his car's ESL failure symptom disappeared after replacing battery in the engine compartment. I decided to give it a try before paying couple thousands to the stealer.

According to the figures in my car's engineer menu, the battery's voltage had dropped to 11.8 and 11.9.

Before putting new battery in, I gave it a last try, this time with several knocks under the steering wheel. Mysteriously, the ESL unlocked and my car started.