C219 CLS55 and CLS63, 2004-2010

No more high IAT and a trans question...

Search this Thread

Rate Thread

Old 06-06-2015, 11:42 PM

Received 27 Likes on 21 Posts
2006 CLS55AMG & 2005 S55AMG
No more high IAT and a trans question...

I'm new to my CLS 55 AMG. Got it in January, but since I live near Detroit, I didn't really start driving it till April. Not going to drive her on our salty roads. On the first 80 degree day we had up here, I noticed I had no power when I dropped the hammer to get thru a yellow light. That's when I found out about heat soak. Something new to me. From searching this forum, I suspected the IC pump. I already had a bluetooth OBD reader. I got the Torque app, and it confirmed my IAT was way high. I was running 20 to 30 degrees over coolant temp. Like 150 to 175 degrees. I got a new Bosch 010 pump and installed it today. It was very easy to do. I am now running 20 to 30 degrees over the outside air temp and, with my new exhaust cut outs, it feels like a different car. My 8 year old said; "Dad, this car is a beast !" I was like, "yes it sure is !". I'm not going to do any "go fast" mods. Maybe a belt wrap kit. I think AMG knows what the limits are and set the car up so as to not over tax the engine. It's plenty fast for me as Is. I swear the exhaust cut outs gave her a bit more punch. I did that before swapping out the IC pump. With the new pump, wow, this car is quicker than any Detroit muscle car I ever had. I notice the trans seems to hunt a bit. More specific, it is "long" to shift. On most every auto trans car, I can make the trans shift by backing off the gas pedal and getting back on the gas pedal quickly. Not in this car. If I back off the gas it doesn't up shift, it still wants to go for the higher gear. It shifts better in manual mode but, not as quick as I would like it to. I have had the trans serviced {fluid and filter replaced}. I also noticed that when I stomp it, it wants to go almost to red line before it shifts. I find my se