C36 AMG, C43 AMG (W202) 1995 - 2000

Fitted after market air filter, now running on only 5 cylinders?

Search this Thread

Rate Thread

Old 11-19-2012, 10:06 AM

Received 5 Likes on 4 Posts
C36 AMG
Fitted after market air filter, now running on only 5 cylinders?

Hi guys, I fitted a cone filter just to see what the sound was like, then put it back to factory, I have herd in the past that they affect the air mass sensor, but i changed it for my spare, the car seems to be running on 5 cylinders now, any ideas what this could be, I dont think the air mass sensor would make a car run on 5 cylinders would it?

Thanks
Old 11-19-2012, 04:00 PM

Received 8 Likes on 8 Posts
1998 C43 AMG
Your symptom is rather vague, but I'll take a stab and guess that by, "...running on 5 cylinders" you mean the car is just sluggish and down on overall power/driveability?

I'm by no means a mechanical genius, but the only way a cone filter (or any air filter, for that matter) affects your MAS is by allowing a greater volume of air (which is the very reason to run a cone or aftermarket filter) to be measured.

It seems like you have added some parameters to the mix. What do you mean when you say, "I changed it for my spare"? You'll have to be more specific.
Old 11-19-2012, 04:23 PM

C36 AMG
Sorry, I posted when was at work was limited for time.

Well it had a new BOSH air sensor on it, I then fitted a cone filter, gave it a few revs, sounded good.

Then took the cone filter off and went back to factory layout, (airbox)

The next morning I started the car and it ran lumpy, slight missfire.

I thought I must of damaged my air flow sensor after reading previous posts on here, so I fitted a spare one I had from my last C36, from what I remember it was working correctly.

I also cleaned my spare before I put it on with brake and clutch cleaner.

It did seem to run a bit better, the revs did not drop so much, but it seems its not running on all 6 cylinders.

Like its only running on 5.