Leasing the right choice?

Search this Thread

Rate Thread

Old 08-08-2018, 10:14 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
sedan
Leasing the right choice?

Hi guys,

I have been thinking about buying the C43 for a while now, because man is the car gorgeous.

I have been saving up for a couple of months as I was planning on financing a 2019 coupe.
By the time the car will be available in the US (~November from what I have researched) I will have saved roughly 15-18k.

But reading through forums and the web, I found that the majority of the posts are about leasing the car. (2017~2018 models)
I was really curious as why that was because I have heard from a friend who owns a 2015 C63 that leasing AMGs was not a good idea (didn't really give specific reasons).
From what I can tell, the major pro of leasing is the low monthly pay with no Downpay required, and also that you don't have to deal with the crazy depreciation of a new coupe c43.
I guess my question is:

If I have saved up more than 20% of the car's value to use as DP, is leasing still the better option?
.. Because if I calculate ~80% car's cost and compare it to some of the lease payments, it is very similar.

Any thoughts/comments are appreciated
Old 08-09-2018, 12:01 AM

Received 84 Likes on 62 Posts
435i xDrive, C43 4Matic Coupe
You will find a ton of people that will argue leasing is better than financing, and vice versa. It's all about how either option fits your lifestyle. In fact, some people buy these cars outright with cash.

I'm a fan of the leasing model because...