C63 AMG (W204) 2008 - 2015

Anybody buy used? CPO or non-CPO?

Search this Thread

Rate Thread

Old 10-16-2009, 06:27 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
1x GM Car
Anybody buy used? CPO or non-CPO?

I finally saw a C63 in person. Went to sit in one, and loved it; the car was a beautifully engineered work of art. People were going out in a C350 demo so I took a spin since I have zero experience with MB. I ended up loving everything about the car except for the sporting character and fun to drive aspects, of which the C350 had very little. However, I was thinking the AMG suspension and 6.2L V8 would fix that and then some... dealer wanted me to test drive the new one but I didn't want to as it listed at 69k. I could, but I'd rather spend closer to the 50k mark. The dealer said they rarely get used AMGs in. (On a side note, this was by far the most friendly, professional experience I've ever had at any dealership; the only other one that came close was a Porsche dealership).

So, as it turns out, I've found quite a few on search sites in the 50-55k bracket with anywhere from 1000 to 5000 miles listed online. Some are at MB dealers, while some are at private dealers or specialty "exotic and sports car" dealers. I know there's appeal to being the first owner, but I've traditionally bought my cars as the second owner and let somebody else drive it 5-10k miles while taking a 10 to 20% depreciation hit. Plus I'm not picky on options, as long as it has navigation and the audio w/ ipod it's great, and I've yet to find a listing that didn't have those options.