want to take my car to the drag strip

Search this Thread

Rate Thread

Old 02-07-2011, 06:56 PM
MBWorld Fanatic!

Received 13 Likes on 12 Posts
'10 C63
want to take my car to the drag strip

i'm pretty much a beginner when it comes to drag racing on a track. although not a complete newbie. i went once about 10 years ago in a turbo civic and know about the staging and all that but that's about it.

the nearest 1/4 mile track from me is probably texas motorplex. from what i can understand in the track rules, i'm going to need a helmet... i'm guessing just by having an AMG, you need a helmet on this particular track since it requires one for faster than 13.99
http://www.texasmotorplex.com/racer-info/track-rules/

where is a good place to start for helmets? i've googled to find some websites that sell them, but i figure it's better to at least try some on to find out what i need to order.

i've read people buying motorcycle helmets or using them just because it's cheaper. how much should i be expecting to spend on a helmet for a car that meets the requirements for this track.

can a helmet expire? i'm asking because spending $$$ on a helmet to use a few times and then find out years later, i have to get a new one would suck.

i also don't plan to switch out tires to get the best possible time ever. i just want to see what i can do. my current tires are the michelin pilot sport all season. initially i wasn't planning on doing a burn out at all since these are street tires. am i correct to assume that?

my plan. put it in S mode and shift to 1st, traction control OFF because i'm not sure what sport will do, and just feather the throttle and learn from there.

any tips/advice would be appreciated...
Old 02-07-2011, 07:01 PM
MBWorld Fanatic!

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
'15 VW GTI
no burnout on all seasons....you're gonna find yourself spinning out all day long on the launches though..You really should get some drag radials to get the most out of it..