C63 AMG (W204) 2008 - 2015

Forged Pistons (p30, p31, 507 etc)

Search this Thread

Rate Thread

Old 06-24-2013, 11:18 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
2015 C63 507
Forged Pistons (p30, p31, 507 etc)

I'm a newbie troubled with the subject of forged pistons. My apologies in advance if it's been discussed.

Looking to order a MY14 C63 to catch one of the last NA engine, and now it comes down to the decision if I should add the 507 edition option.

Everything I read says that forged pistons are more likely to expand with heat; therefore, requires higher piston-to-cylinder wall clearance. As a result, the pistons may slightly 'rock' in the cylinder prior to warming up and cause cylinder wear. This sound like a trade-off between power and longevity. Any expert opinion would be greatly appreciated. Many thanks!

I'd like to keep the car long, so longevity is critical, but the extra power and the BS hood are so nice.
Old 06-24-2013, 11:27 PM
MBWorld Fanatic!

Received 846 Likes on 594 Posts
E63S | X5
You could always get a non PP/507 and just get a BS hood and a tune and be pretty much at the same place.

Seeing as you're intentions are longevity I assume you won't be tracking the car or doing any crazy modifications such as supercharger so there really isn't an advantage to having the internals forged from factory.

Forged internals can have something called piston slap, but it isn't going to be catastrophic to an engine nor is it likely to come up in an otherwise unmodified car. You get that kind of piston slap out of say something like a subaru sti or evo with a fully built bottom end meant to handle a massive amount of power.

Bottom line, if you have the money, I'd go for the PP/507 if I were you and just leave it alone as far as performance is concerned and get the longevity you want out of it.
Old 06-24-2013, 11:37 PM

Received 2 Likes on 1 Post
'14 C63 "Edition 507"; '02 Widebody WS6 Trans Am ~ 1,200hp (kills everything)