Sponsored by:

Noob Questions?

Search this Thread

Rate Thread

Old 09-13-2015, 11:19 PM

Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts
2012 C63 AMG DP
Noob Questions?

ok all, I am a recent owner of my first MB. 2012 C63 coupe with DP.
Ive been reading up a lot on the overall comments about them and of course, i joined this board right away.
I did a lot of mod's to my last car (G37) and enjoyed it very much. I would say I have a little better than average knowledge about cars in general, but I'm no Mechanic...
So - I had a few questions that I hope Im not the only one that will benefit from. One of the reasons I love this car is because there's not much that Needs "modding" IMO (at least until the warranty expires) - but I do have some General Knowledge questions...

1. If I want to buy after market Wheels, but Keep a staggered tire set up - what is the Best size for running 19" wheels that are basically Bolt on - keeping the same or similar flush profile as the stock set up (maybe a tiny bit out) that requires No spacers and No clearance issues.

2. How can I tell if my car came with a LSD?

3. I see that these cares are designated W204 - Why, and what's that all about.

4. what (if any) are the standard "simple" mods that are currently done by drivers. (Better Sway bars, cold air intake, pipe wrapping, etc)

5. What (if any) are the common "Problem Areas" that should be checked or looked into (i.e.: Alignment always goes out after tire swaps)

Thanks ahead for any all responses.

NeverSettle
Atlanta GA
Black C63 AMG Coupe Development Package
Old 09-14-2015, 03:07 AM
MBWorld Fanatic!

Received 911 Likes on 641 Posts
E63S | X5
1. https://mbworld.org/forums/c63-amg-w...el-thread.html
Most common is a 19x10 in the rear with a +50/+52 offset. Thats the wheel that matters. Also, run a 265 tire. You might be able to get away with a 275 (been done many times) but if you DD this car just do a 265 and save yourself the headaches.