My DSS Driveshaft Shop Carbon Driveshaft Install DIY:

Search this Thread

Rate Thread

Old 01-23-2020, 01:04 AM

Received 168 Likes on 113 Posts
2009 C63 P30
My DSS Driveshaft Shop Carbon Driveshaft Install DIY:

Driveshaft Shop (DSS) Carbon Fiber Driveshaft Install DIY:

Introduction: I’ve owned my ’09 P30 C63 for two years and have been modifying it gradually since purchase. I joined the forum shortly after the original DSS group buy ended but have been intrigued by the mod ever since. I’ve chased a few that have come up used and finally grabbed one from an all around good dude @Texas E63 . What follows is my experience doing this on my own. I’m a total novice. And until buying this car had never even done my own plugs. My mod experience is in my signature. Some kind folks here have given me input to get this down laying on my garage floor in the middle of a cold NorCal winter. Thanks to @saitesd1 for answering some install questions and Lee at DSS for also helping out.

Executive Summary: Here’s a solid list of what it’s going to take to pull your driveshaft and install the DSS unit, or just to pull and R&R an OE unit. What you’re going to be doing is removing some undercarriage covers, two chassis braces, about 75% of your exhaust system, a heat shield, and finally getting after the OE driveshaft. It’s definitely a fair amount of work on the garage floor, but it is all just unbolting and bolting. Nothing too technically difficult. Now, if you have young kids as I do, I can’t ballpark a time estimate for you. To get everything torn down and just get to the DSS bolted in, I’m at about 5 hours over three days from the time my hand grabbed a jack.

Tools:
  1. 8mm socket- Used for a few bolts holding up the side underbody shields.
  2. 10mm socket- Used for the bulk of the underbody shields to loosen plastic captured nuts.
  3. 13mm socket- for removing the rear exhaust brace nut to allow mufflers to drop out.
  4. E12 reverse Torx-