C63 AMG (W204) 2008 - 2015
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Does anyone have any worn cam adjusters lying around?

Search this Thread

Rate Thread

Old 08-11-2020, 03:25 PM

Received 251 Likes on 124 Posts
11’ C63 AMG; D2 Audi A8; 15’ Golf TDi; 97’ F350PSD; B6 Audi S4; D1 Audi V8; A2 VW GTi
Does anyone have any worn cam adjusters lying around?

I cross posted this in the tech forum, but the catacombs in Paris see more traffic than the tech forum, so I am posting here too.

As my handle indicates, I am a machinist. I have been looking at the failure mode of these adjusters for a little while now, and I think I can fix the wear. I have a few ideas that might work, and I need some parts to try it on, and more importantly, measure for potential duplication.
Old 08-11-2020, 06:03 PM

Received 125 Likes on 111 Posts
2013 W204 C63 AMG P31 Estate wagon
I can't help you but sounds like a great idea.
When I first joined the forum the was a guy on eBay selling just the base plate supposedly out of a stronger steel than OEM.
they were a little pricey for most people so gather he just gave up.
Old 08-11-2020, 07:12 PM

11’ C63 AMG; D2 Audi A8; 15’ Golf TDi; 97’ F350PSD; B6 Audi S4; D1 Audi V8; A2 VW GTi
I also have an Audi S4 with similar adjusters made by Hydraulik Ring like the ones in the 156, which also fail in exactly the same way.

Unfortunately, there is no way to economically make these out of a harder steel, as the pin is a bog standard dowel pin. Dowel pins are made out of through hardened tool steel. You’d need to make the plates out of the same or harder stuff to stop the wear, and just the tooling for that is sub-orbital not to mention the machine time. They are likely made from 4140 or 4340 from the factory, which is fairly skookum, but not nearly in the same league as the $0.35 dowel pin that destroys them.