CL55 AMG, CL65 AMG, CL63 AMG (C215, C216) 2000 - 2014 (Two Generations)

2003 CL55 ABC line ruptured

Search this Thread

Rate Thread

Old 06-17-2011, 12:55 AM

Received 2 Likes on 1 Post
2003 CL55 AMG
2003 CL55 ABC line ruptured

I am newbie here so be please be nice. I have the most wonderful wife in the world and for my birthday she bought me a 2003 CL55 AMG. It is the car I have always wanted and now I have it. the problem is that I drove it for one day and the "Advanced Body Control Drive Safely" warning came on. I parked the car immediately. After reading some threads on this site mostly by "Oxygen" I have decided to have it towed to an authorized service center and have it repaired. however I know nothing about how to fix this car. If it was a Corvette or RX7 I could rebuild it blindfolded.

I looked under the front bumper and found a hatch on the drivers side with fluid leaking from it. I opened the hatch and found what I believe to be the tandem pump. coming out of that pump on the bottom are two what I believe to be high pressure lines. the more inboard line has a metal coupling about 4 inches from the "pump" about 8 inches of house before another steel coupling. to the rear of the first steel coupling the line is ruptured. I will take pictures and try to post them. My major question is how screwed am I?
Old 06-17-2011, 10:25 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
2005 CL 55 AMG
Very
Old 06-17-2011, 01:58 PM
MBWorld Fanatic!

Received 5 Likes on 5 Posts
04 CL55 (sold), 2012 CLS550 (sold), 2014 S550 (sold), 2015 ES300H (DAILY)
^ what he said.
Old 06-17-2011, 06:20 PM

2003 CL55 AMG
Unhappy

*UPDATE*

I went to a service center two doors down from my work. I brought pictures of the ruptured line and we were able to idenditify it on the schematic. Good news is the line will only cost $125.00 and take two days to get. the bad news is it is the longest line in the entire system. They are going to call me later with the labor quote. Wish me luck.