CL55 AMG, CL65 AMG, CL63 AMG (C215, C216) 2000 - 2014 (Two Generations)

2004 S55 - Any information/guidance on motor mount replacement?

Search this Thread

Rate Thread

Old 05-06-2013, 09:12 PM

Received 8 Likes on 7 Posts
S55K AMG
2004 S55 - Any information/guidance on motor mount replacement?

Hello all

The car was beginning to get very annoying to drive with a constant humming, hard suspension and general vibrations.

Just changed the Pulsation Damper a few days ago and what a difference that has made. The humming has gone and the suspension is feeling soft again. But the vibrations are still there.

Had it checked and sure enough the motor mounts seem to have failed. Was looking at replacing these but theres very very little information on how to go about changing them, just that the left one seems to be harder than the right one.

Has anyone got any clearer information on how to go about doing it?

Im a DIY mechanic and my friend is a full time mechanic so we're sure we can do this, but just need a few pointers. Will also replace the tranny mount at the same time i think.

Any help would be mostly appreciated.
Old 05-06-2013, 09:53 PM
Super Moderator

Received 19 Likes on 17 Posts
2003 CL55 AMG
Motor mounts are pretty straight forward. You will need a lift and screw jack.

I had to remove my exhaust from the down tubes back to get access to the mounts.

Make sure to have a wobbler on your drive extrusion, makes the job a lot easier.
Old 05-07-2013, 05:54 AM

S55K AMG
Thanks for the reply Adam, apart from the exhaust was there anything else that had to be removed or loosened? A few threads specify the ABC pump having to be removed, or the alternator to be removed from the other side?

Or is it just removal of the exhaust and then lift the engine up a couple of inches?

Thanks.
Old 05-07-2013, 07:48 AM
alx
MBWorld Fanatic!

Received 248 Likes on 214 Posts
If your mounts are not oozing oil they are prolly ok. Pick your battles.