CL55 AMG, CL65 AMG, CL63 AMG (C215, C216) 2000 - 2014 (Two Generations)

My w215 CL55 ABC Delete Thread - Yellow Speed Racing Coilover Conversion and Review

Old 05-15-2016, 10:21 AM

Received 9 Likes on 4 Posts
'12 E550 | Sold: '03 CL55 '06 E55 '00 E55, '97 BMW 540i, '85, '87, '91, '93 &'94 Mazda RX-7s
My w215 CL55 ABC Delete Thread - Yellow Speed Racing Coilover Conversion and Review

Disclaimer

Please note that I will not be held responsible for any issues that may arise from others if they attempt to repeat this process. I am NOT a mechanic. If you choose to pursue a similar conversion please realize that you do so at your own risk.

I am only writing this up because of the wealth of knowledge I have received from the forums. I am not affiliated with any of the companies discussed in this write-up.

Lastly, thank-you to anyone that has put up with my constant e-mails, questions and harassment – you know who you are.

Introduction

Please note that I understand that there are quite a lot of purists out there that believe converting from an ABC suspension to a coilover suspension is akin to blasphemy. Some would argue that coilovers replace an otherwise ingenious system with one that cannot simply compete with a precision engineered Mercedes solution. I understand your points and acknowledge your decisions to stay stock. However, frankly speaking, the W215 chassis is now well over 10 years old and the plummeting prices of W215 cars are evidence that Mercedes-Benz over-engineered tried-and-tested part of the automobile.