CLK-Class (W208) 1998-2002: CLK 200, CLK 230K, CLK 320, CLK 430 [Coupes & Cabriolets]

01 CLK 430 Sensor problems? Please help!!

Search this Thread

Rate Thread

Old 12-08-2009, 05:35 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
clk 430
01 CLK 430 Sensor problems? Please help!!

First i would like to thank every one reading this for your time. I am new to this great forum and have learned a lot browsing and looking for a solution to my problem. After searching for a while I decided to see if any one can help me with my unique problem. my 2001 clk 430 has been getting bad MPG and now is starting to hesitate if i step on it fast. I can see the cable is tight and moving as it should but there is a delay to the motor. Also today i was rolling up to a red light, it turned green and i pushed the gas.... nothing... nothing... wow, hold on! I ran the codes and read:

1) P0101- MAF or VAF A CKT Range/Performance

2) P0221-(pending) TPS/pedal position sensor/ switch B CKT Range/Performance.

I have seen many post on this topic but none refering to these codes on a clk 430. my questions are:

1) are these related as they are only inches apart and they both tripped at basicly the same time?
2) should i start with cleaning the MAF and the throttle body and could a dirty throttle body trip code p0221?
3) is there some thing else that could be causing this?
4) the 2001 clk 430s dont have a tps in the pedal right or wrong?

I have received quotes for a new throttle body from MB for $780 with a new TPS attached and i can get a reman MAF for $280. i would like to go that route only if there is nothing else that can be causing these problems. i don't want to be $1000 down and still have the same problems. sorry this post it so long but i am new to this and i want to be detailed. I can do the labor my self... Im no expert but I am a good DIYer.

I really want my CLK back to normal!

Thanks so much!
Old 12-08-2009, 05:46 PM
MBWorld Fanatic!

Received 4 Likes on 3 Posts
01 CLK 430