CLK-Class (W208) 1998-2002: CLK 200, CLK 230K, CLK 320, CLK 430 [Coupes & Cabriolets]

Newbie seeing constructive suggestions.

Search this Thread

Rate Thread

Old 01-19-2010, 06:54 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
clk 320
Newbie seeing constructive suggestions.

Total Newbie Constructive Ideas Welcome
Hi everyone. I recently bought a 1998 clk 320. This car was ridden hard and put away wet. The only thing I did was drive the car home about an hour and a half ride, and park it. From a quick once over here are the things I noticed the need addressed.

Check Engine Light (came on while I was filling the car up with gas, while leaving it running) I plan on getting a scope put on it to see if it will tell what that is.
Nasty Oversize Wheels aside from just being ugly, the car rode a little stiff and when changing lanes I could really feel the seams in the road. Never had big wheels with low profile tires before, but wonder if that would contribute to the poor ride.
BAS/ARS Light this light has since gone off. I'm typing this from memory, and I'm not totally sure about the second abbreviation (ARS) but I know from sure about the BAS. The break pedal was really hard to push in, yet the car didn't stop very well. The previoius owner said, he thought it was a vacume line. Again I'm an absolute newbie, so this could just be BS. I think this car has a brake assist system right (BAS) is that a vacume system?
Gaps Around Door Windows since there is now frame around the windows they just close against that rubber moulding. Well these windows don't tuck under that trim, instead they collapse or fold the rubber. Could the doors need hinge or latch work? You can see about a 1/4" gap at the back of the window.