CLK-Class (W208) 1998-2002: CLK 200, CLK 230K, CLK 320, CLK 430 [Coupes & Cabriolets]

Answers - Hesitation, Stumble, won't accelerate, no power, misfires, etc... Fixed

Search this Thread

Rate Thread

Old 03-24-2011, 09:08 PM

Received 3 Likes on 2 Posts
1999 CLK430
Answers - Hesitation, Stumble, won't accelerate, no power, misfires, etc... Fixed

I am posting this to share my recent experience with my '99 CLK430. I am an experienced mechanic. I've been working on cars/engines for more than 15 years, I attended UTI when I was young, but I do not work in the field. This is my first MB and I did not know the ins and outs well enough to jump right in and find/fix the problem I was having. I was very frustrated by the lack of response that I got on both MBWorld.org and Mercedesforum.com; as well as the general lack of detailed information available on the internet. I hope this provides some valuable information and references, and also helps anyone that may have any of the problems below.

I haven't owned this car very long, less than 2 years. I had an incident when I first got the car, where I apparently got some low-quality fuel, and the car began having acceleration problems. Talked to the local private MB shop, and they poured in a can of BG44K (Fuel System Cleaner), and that solved the problem. This problem started out the same way, and I thought I probably got some bad fuel again. BG44K did not fix the problem, so I changed out the fuel filter because it was about due, and also to make sure that it hadn't been plugged if indeed I had gotten bad fuel. This did not fix the problem either, and then it progressed.