CLK-Class (W208) 1998-2002: CLK 200, CLK 230K, CLK 320, CLK 430 [Coupes & Cabriolets]

How to tell replicas from real

Search this Thread

Rate Thread

Old 06-24-2003, 09:59 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
CLK320
How to tell replicas from real

There's this guy that I am meeting tonight who wants to sell his brabus IV rims. He says he needs to make a sale asap since he is leaving the country. I'm new to all of this and I swear I cant tell whether what he is selling me are the real thing or just replicas. Guys have any advice? Is it worth buying used or should I just spend a little bit more (okay maybe a lot more) for brabus rims? Anything will help. Thanks all. You've all been very helpful.

By the way he is selling it for about $1200 with tires. And the only pic he had was this:

Let me know what you guys think
Attached Thumbnails How to tell replicas from real-brabus.jpg  
Old 06-24-2003, 10:09 PM

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
2006 E350
What sizes are the rims? Is he selling them with the tires?
Old 06-24-2003, 10:30 PM

Cayenne GTS, Cayenne Turbo
Re: How to tell replicas from real

Brabus rims will have "Made by Ronal" or just "Ronal" embossed on the inside of the wheel. Brabus wheels also have "Brabus" embossed on the outside.

If it's a multi-piece, you can tell real easy if it's fake from the lack of gap between the center and lip. Real multi-piece wheels have a space between the center and lip due to its multi-piece nature. Replica multi-piece have no such space/gap.

Good luck.

Originally posted by Laiv
There's this guy that I am meeting tonight who wants to sell his brabus IV rims. He says he needs to make a sale asap since he is leaving the country. I'm new to all of this and I swear I cant tell whether what he is selling me are the real thing or just replicas. Guys have any advice? Is it worth buying used or should I just spend a little bit more (okay maybe a lot more) for brabus rims? Anything will help. Thanks all. You've all been very helpful.