CLK-Class (W208) 1998-2002: CLK 200, CLK 230K, CLK 320, CLK 430 [Coupes & Cabriolets]

Clk 320 convertible roof problem

Search this Thread

Rate Thread

Old 10-30-2019, 03:40 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Clk 320 2000 model convertible
Clk 320 convertible roof problem

Hi I’m new to this page so hello 😊 . I have been given my late farthers clk witch is in lovely condition and only covered 23000 miles . Everything’s worked as it should then this happened . This morning I changed the battery and moved a few things around in the boot and now the roof is not going down all the way . So - I unlock the roof then press the button the window and the roof lifts up at the rear but the boot lid will not lift so the roof can fold away it makes the sound but nothing happens the the switch flashes red . Can anyone help please am I doing something wrong or moved something ? As was working fine .
Old 10-30-2019, 04:11 PM
Super Moderator

Received 754 Likes on 735 Posts
bone stock E55 AMG
moved to W208 forum...
Old 10-30-2019, 06:55 PM
MBWorld Fanatic!

Received 195 Likes on 174 Posts
2001 CLK320 Cabrio
After you manually unlatch the front bow, do your driver and passenger side roof frame joints open up, as shown in the below picture?

Two more questions.

The power roof controller has a built in self test diagnostic facility. Whenever you turn the key to position 2 or start the vehicle, the lamp in the power roof switch will illuminate briefly while the test runs and then turn off. However, if it detected a problem, with the status or function of the power roof, the lamp will either remain illuminated or flash at a specific rate etc., as explained in the below document.

From the below document, what are the specifics that are causing your power roof operating switch to illuminate?

The document below illustrates the stages, as related to the soft top controller cyclically evaluating the required sequence of input and output actualizations, when opening the roof.