CLK-Class (W209) 2003 on: CLK 270 CDI, CLK 200K, CLK 200 CGI, CLK 240, CLK 320, CLK 350, CLK 500, CLK 550 [Coupes & Cabriolets]

Aftermarket radio cause no start?

Search this Thread

Rate Thread

Old 12-03-2019, 09:45 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
2006 CLK 500
Aftermarket radio cause no start?

i Posted previously about the electrical issues I’m having with my car. I’ve been installing stereos for over 25 years, I’ve worked in several stereo/custom shops so I kinda have an idea what I’m doing. My father in law already took it upon himself to have it towed to a dealership where he told them it was because I cut all the wires etc. well the dealer diagnosed it needing a new pcm. I replaced that and still having issues with it not starting. Now he took it somewhere else and he said the tech told him it was because I replaced the radio. The car was fine for a year with the aftermarket radio but he said he was told that it might b ok at first but not having the factory radio is making the car think it’s stolen, preventing it from starting. Is there any truth to this? I have always used an aftermarket harness with all my installs as I did here with no issues. Am I missing something? He said I need to have the car reprogrammed for an aftermarket radio. This is the first foreign car I’ve owned so maybe I am missing something, I don’t know. Will switching radios cause the car to think it’s stolen and cause the security system to not let the car start?
Old 12-10-2019, 12:13 PM

Received 137 Likes on 89 Posts
2014 E350 Wagon, 2007 S600, 2009 SL550 with ABC removed, 2011 S400 with Hybrid removed