CLK55 AMG, CLK63 AMG (W208, W209) 2000 - 2010 (Two Generations)

Please Help! CLK55 AMG (cost/quality/efficiency)

Search this Thread

Rate Thread

Old 03-19-2009 | 05:37 PM

Grand Cherokee (right now)
Please Help! CLK55 AMG (cost/quality/efficiency)

Hey guys, this is my first time posting on the site so first I would like to say "Hey". To give you a little background info, I am in the market for a new car and I have my eyes on a 2003 CLK55 AMG with 40K miles on it and it selling for a little over $20K. I am in college right now and have owned several lower end sports cars (mustangs, etc. ) in the past and for the past 2 months I have been driving my Dad's Lexus SC430. Right now I drive a Grand Cherokee (hemi) but I have been really itching to get another fun car, and after driving my Dad's Lexus I feel like a CLK55 AMG would be a good choice for me. After reading about them, they seem like they are fast/agile enough for daily driving and weekend cruises but also gets better MPG than my Jeep and has a bigger back seat and trunk than my Dad's Lex.

Now for the part that I need your help on. My father feels like it would be more cost efficient if I bought a cheaper or less luxurious sports car (350Z, Mustang, etc.) because even though they might require more maintenance, the overall cost of the car will be less in the long run. I haven't owned a Mercedes in the past, but I am guessing that a normal tune up or oil change will cost a considerable amount more than a normal car if you take it to the Dealer. Ideality I would like to prove to him that while the cost of maintenance might be more, the car will require less of it and because it is a higher quality car, the life of a well maintained Mercedes is greater say a 350Z or something like that . Also, after I have done a little reading about the CLK55's, I have found that the engine is a very well built engine and when something does go wrong with the car, it is in most cases something small.