CLK55 AMG, CLK63 AMG (W208, W209) 2000 - 2010 (Two Generations)

Finished Radio Install

Search this Thread

Rate Thread

Old 09-05-2011, 06:49 PM

Received 4 Likes on 2 Posts
W209 Clk55 W140 S500
Finished Radio Install

After a year and a bit with the Bose system, non-navi, on a 2003 CLK55 w209, I've finally decided to upgrade the head unit. I've been to several local audio shops in my city asking for advice about keeping the Bose speakers because I did not feel like rewiring everything. They told me about it being fiber optics, but through research its just after the amp is where it becomes fiber optics. But the problem with the Bose speakers is their resistance being 2ohm's, where most aftermarket audio is 4ohm's. So I decided to gut everything and start fresh.

This build was on a budget, I am still a student attending uni, and I need as much saved up as possible.

Headunit: Clarion VX400 - $200 (Purchased locally)

Speakers: F: Alpine Type R SPR-174A - Free from a friend R: Clarion SRR1625- Free from my brother (all are new)
Subwoofers: 2 12's Alpine Type R - $100 (got it cheap from a friend)
VW Harness: $15 (purchased from Advance)
Radio Adapter: $10
Amplifiers: Sony Xplod -$100, I know sony is not good in car audio, but it was all I had, But I decided to buy an MB Quart amp for the subwoofers
MB QUART FX1.600 - $180 (Both purchased from visions)
Wires: $30 (Brian Reimer)
All the places listed above are in Winnipeg, Manitoba.

Total: $635

Note on install, you may need to modify the factory speaker mounting bracket.

For my alpine speakers, the bottom portion were sticking out a bit.
Marked the spots were I had to cut. Used a dremel.

After:

There is a piece that sticks out on the bottom part of the bracket, You have to cut it.

After: Fits perfectly

Before Pics of the old Bose Unit:

For the 12v accessory and Dimmer Wire, I went to the cigarette lighter for them, Thanks to 2MCHCAR, for his post about this, otherwise I would still be looking for it.