CLS Coupe (C219) Discuss the CLS Coupe.

2006 CLS Airmatic coil to spring conversion question.

Search this Thread

Rate Thread

Old 07-26-2017, 10:09 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Cls & c300
2006 CLS Airmatic coil to spring conversion question.

Hey everyone, newbie here 😊

I just purchased a 2006 CLS 500 and I’m thinking about changing over from the airmatic to coil springs for the rear and front. Now I found a set of springs on eBay and I was wondering if they would fit with no issues.

http://m.ebay.ca/itm/311832107285?_mwBanner=1
Old 07-27-2017, 07:19 AM
MBWorld Fanatic!

Received 72 Likes on 56 Posts
2007 Mercedes E550
Originally Posted by Mbandbeyond
Hey everyone, newbie here 😊

I just purchased a 2006 CLS 500 and I’m thinking about changing over from the airmatic to coil springs for the rear and front. Now I found a set of springs on eBay and I was wondering if they would fit with no issues.

http://m.ebay.ca/itm/311832107285?_mwBanner=1
If it were me I would purchase from a more reputable source. You may find out that these do not fit your car, and then have to pay the mechanic for his time taking apart (or your time is wasted if DIY).

I thought conversion kits were the entire strut, not just the spring?
Old 07-29-2017, 07:53 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Cls & c300
Originally Posted by LexBrett2
If it were me I would purchase from a more reputable source. You may find out that these do not fit your car, and then have to pay the mechanic for his time taking apart (or your time is wasted if DIY).

I thought conversion kits were the entire strut, not just the spring?
Right now the rear of the vehicle is not rising when I start the engine. I’ve tried everything and it still refuses to budge.
So I called and confirmed if they would fit before I purchased them.
I actually did this conversion on my old GMC Envoy and it worked perfectly. So I’m pretty sure I can just change the springs and keep the old shocks in for now.