CLS Coupe (C219) Discuss the CLS Coupe.

SRS Questions

Search this Thread

Rate Thread

Old 03-05-2020, 05:56 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
2008 CLS 550
SRS Questions

Hi everybody! This is my first post but I have been browsing these forums since I bought a 2008 CLS 550, I picked it up after it was in a front-end collision and rebuilt it. Sorry if the story is hard to follow and the formatting is weird, I just have a few questions that I was hoping somebody here could help me answer.

I replaced all the blown airbags, had the seat belts repaired, and sent the SRS module off to be reset. I was informed that the module could not be safely reset so I ordered a similar unit off eBay, though I fear it may not have been similar enough. (I should've done more research first). It came out of an E 63 without a kneebag. Using my Autel MP808 I unlocked it, changed the vin, set country to USA, set kneebag to present, WSS to not present, auto child seat recognition to not present, and seat mat to no mat (I need to diagnose/replace the WSS/child seat recognition later but want the airbags to work for the time being).

So all that leads to the problem I encountered, after all that is set up I get one error in the SRS module, AD52 control module N2/7 (restraint systems control module) is faulty. I thought I had to lock it first so I cleared the error, locked it, but the error came back after interlock. I subsequently ordered an SRS module from my same exact car, same plant, same everything, just different production numbers. The seller assured me that all the bags and seatbelts were intact from the car. This module was $40 shipped, whereas the cheapest new module I can find from a dealer is just shy of $600. The SRS module I ordered from the same car as mine will arrive in one week.