Detailing & Automotive Care Use this forum to discuss detailing, cleaning and automotive care to maintain the beauty in your Mercedes-Benz.

question about (gulp!) car wash for maintanence

Search this Thread

Rate Thread

Old 10-16-2002, 12:36 PM
MBWorld Fanatic!

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
'07 Porsche 997TT
Red face question about (gulp!) car wash for maintanence

although i'm a newbie to the detailing forum, I know that car wash is probably considered to be a dirty word around here. I am awaiting delivery of a E500 and have deen doing some reading here about zaino. since my car is silver, i'm wondering if it is worth the effort though. I could see black, red, etc. If I do decide to go the Zaino route, i am wondering what folks do who live in a similiar climate to mine (Long Island NY). I'm sure I wont be into detailing the car when it's 10 degrees with a howling wind in February. conversely when it's 95 with 100% humidity (I gotta move to San Diego). Basically, would taking the car to a "touchless" car wash for the times I can't detail properly due to weather "ruin" the initial effort to "zaino-ise". Anyone happen to know a good detailer on Long Island? Thanks for your patience, chris
Old 10-16-2002, 03:24 PM
MBWorld Fanatic!

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Zaino will stand up to the harsh detergents used at touchless car washes better than regular waxes.
Old 10-17-2002, 12:43 PM
MBWorld Fanatic!

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
2008 VW GTI
I live in NH and I only plan on applying Zaino twice a year at most. People say it will last and I hope they're right.
Old 10-17-2002, 12:48 PM
MBWorld Fanatic!

Received 3 Likes on 2 Posts
MB