Detailing & Automotive Care Use this forum to discuss detailing, cleaning and automotive care to maintain the beauty in your Mercedes-Benz.

Question regarding repainting hood

Search this Thread

Rate Thread

Old 02-17-2003, 07:09 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
2001 CLK 320
Question regarding repainting hood

Does anyone have any thoughts regarding repainting a major panel? I have very little experience with such matters and, unfortunately I am faced with a dilemma as to whether to live with some scars or repaint my hood. Last week I had my until recently flawless CLK in for service. My dealer is great in every respect, and because they wanted to keep my car safe they brought it inside of their drive through. A gust of wind came along and took down a picture which promptly came down about ten feet, eventually resting on my hood. There were quite a few minor scratches about twelve inches in length that mostly polished out. However,a small area about the size of a quarter went down to bare metal. They put a little paint on, sanded and polished, and it sort of looks like an acid rain spot. In the vicinity, the sanding took the paint down where I can just begin to see the primer coming through. They will, of course, repaint it at their expense, however, I'm not sure what to do. My thought is that it will never be as good as a factory paint job and will probably have a negative impact on resale value. However, as someone who loves to detail my car, I'm not so happy with the scars either. Suprisingly, there were no dents at all. AlBoston, I would especially appreciate your input. Thanks everyone.
Old 02-17-2003, 10:36 AM

2004 S 600
Take a look at my posts......LX470 vs S600 In Wreck and in detailing section see S600 Full Detail after my car had been repaired.