Detailing & Automotive Care Use this forum to discuss detailing, cleaning and automotive care to maintain the beauty in your Mercedes-Benz.

Help a Newbie buy some products

Search this Thread

Rate Thread

Old 04-21-2010, 06:21 PM

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
MB W204, VW Polo, Audi R8 V10 - SOLD.
Help a Newbie buy some products

Hi all,

I'm a real newbie when it comes to things like cleaning and waxing so I thought a thread here might help me out. I'm really after what products I should be using on the outside of my car to keep it looking good. In case it makes any difference, the paintwork is Obsidian Black (metallic black).

Since I'm in the UK, there arent many shops that sell what you guys have available in the US - well at least not over the counter and not anywhere I've looked. The only product that is all over the shelves is Meguiars.

I'm looking to claybar the car as well. So I assume the steps I follow are:

a) Wash to remove any dirt.
b) Claybar
c) Polish/Wax the car

I assume I can use the following products in the following order:

1) Gold Class Car Wash Shampoo & Conditioner
2) Smooth Surface Clay Kit
3) Step 1 - Deep Crystal Paint Cleaner
4) Step 2 - Deep Crystal Polish
5) NXT Tech Wax 2.0 (not sure whether to get the liquid wax or paste)

All of the products I'm able to buy relatively easily. This will take a good few hours to do but I hope that I can do this and maintain it easily.

A quick aside: Is there anything I can use to stop the car getting dirty so quickly? I live on a busy road and my car get's visibly dirty after a few days. I thought the NXT Tech Wax might help with this...

Thanks and apologies for the long read.
Old 04-21-2010, 07:03 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
'14 CLA 45
Originally Posted by Mr Enigma
Hi all,