Diesel Forum Forum for Diesel engine vehicle related discussion
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Anyone else experience diesel discrimination?

Search this Thread

Rate Thread

Old 11-27-2005, 06:50 PM

Received 9 Likes on 6 Posts
'05 E320CDI, 1987 300E, Vanagon Syncro, Turbo Arrow III
Question Anyone else experience diesel discrimination?

So now that I'm back in a diesel (I have owned 3 diesel Rabbits in the past), I'm wondering whether anyone else has experiences like mine - one being the reason AAA (the American Automobile Association) will never see a dime of membership money from me again.

Back in the early 90s, when I was driving diesel Rabbits, the promotional literature for AAA indicated that they would bring you "fuel" as a part of their road service. As a pilot, I'm predisposed to believe that there are very few excuses for a rational individual to ever run out of fuel in a motor vehicle, but I managed to find one.

I was driving in Northern Virginia at night, when my engine went dead. My fuel gauge was reading 1/4 tank, but after troubleshooting, all of the symptoms were of fuel starvation. (It later turned out that a bad vent caused the fuel tank to run empty and collapse onto the sender, causing a false reading.)

I called AAA, and asked for someone to bring me fuel, to which they said "Oh, we can't have anyone bring you diesel, only gasoline." I said, "then send me a tow truck."

Of course, when the tow arrived, he asked "Why didn't you just have us bring you some diesel fuel?" I was really torqued. I cancelled my membership on the spot and have been happy to use Mercedes-Benz road service for almost all of my needs for the past 8 years or so.

I'm just wondering if there are other cases where diesel drivers are second-class citizens or where vendors don't do what they say they'll do if you're in a diesel vehicle?
Old 11-28-2005, 06:33 AM
MBWorld Fanatic!

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Its big and Grey!