Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Suspension for E320 CDI

Search this Thread

Rate Thread

Old 06-01-2012, 12:02 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Suspension for E320 CDI

I'm new to the diesel forum, but also own a C55 so have been on MBWorld for a while. I bought a 2005 E320 CDI which was delivered yesterday from Florida (I live in Houston). I have a couple of questions about beefing up the suspension and such:

1. I 'd like to go to a larger rim size, but I'm curious if I'd take too much of a MPG hit on 18" and should go to 17" instead. Does anyone know if 17" wheels make a significant difference in handling from the stock 16", and how much MPG will suffer with 18" wheels?

2. Any suggestions on where to buy after market rims - preferably just the 17" or 18" version of the stock twin spoke rims?

3. If I go to larger rims, would I still need to change the shocks or does the increase in rim size fix the floaty feel of the suspension? If so would you recommend Koni FSDs over Bilsteins?

4. Anyone tried the sprint booster on the 320 CDI or is the Kleeman "box" thing that attaches to the ECU better because it does the same thing as SB plus adds real power?

5. The car has 47,700 miles but has not had tranny fluid change. Should I flush the fluid or is it too late, and how much will that cost at dealer's?

6. Any suggestion on a fuel/injector cleaner for the car?

Lots of questions! Thanks for any help in advance, and your patience.
Old 06-01-2012, 01:10 AM

Received 4 Likes on 3 Posts
X350d GLE500e 2017, ML350 BlueTec 2012(sold), A200 2013, ML350CDI 2009(sold), Aston Martin DB7 2003
Best to try the W211 forum.
Old 06-01-2012, 01:14 AM

Received 4 Likes on 3 Posts
X350d GLE500e 2017, ML350 BlueTec 2012(sold), A200 2013, ML350CDI 2009(sold), Aston Martin DB7 2003
Re 6.

There has been a lot of chat on this subject and a lot of crap too.
But yours is the modern diesel engine running on modern fuel so the cleaners are a waste of money.
Old 06-01-2012, 09:38 PM