need MFI diesel pump 1992 300 turbo

Search this Thread

Rate Thread

Old 08-17-2012, 02:51 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Mercedes 300 diesel turbo 1992
need MFI diesel pump 1992 300 turbo

Hi!
I'm a newbie and know close to nothing about cars. I have a 1992 300 turbo diesel that has been having problems starting. Mechanic says the problem is the MFI diesel pump, and he can send it to be fixed (rebuilt?) for about $3,000 (I assume that includes putting it in, which he said will cost about $700-$800)

Can any of y'all enlighten me? can I just buy a part somewhere (used or new but not made by Mercedes), or... Other ideas?

How does that cost compare to, say, selling the car? (e.g., should I sell it? Fix it and sell it, or sell it before fixing?) At this point it can be started with spraying starter fluid on it, and once started, it drives well. Has abt 200,000 miles, and looks good.

Thanks!
Janice
Old 08-17-2012, 11:47 PM
MBWorld Fanatic!

Received 55 Likes on 52 Posts
2007 W204 220CDI Classic Sedan
MFI means mechanical fuel injection pump.

In a the absence of any other advice I would see another diesel mechanic for an opinion.

If it runs well after starting it may be just glow plugs. Does it start well when hot ?
Old 08-18-2012, 12:30 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Mercedes 300 diesel turbo 1992
Thanks for your reply
A regular (non Mercedes) mechanic first checked it, and replaced the glow plug relay and fuel lines. He said it might not solve the problem, and alas, it did not.

It was starting fine when warm, but apparently now it did not start at all at the 2nd mechanic, who did a more complete diagnosis, and determined it needed a new MFI pump. He said there is no pressure... seemed quite confident in his diagnosis.