E-Class Coupe (C238) & Cabrio (A238) 2017 - E200, E220, E300, E350, E400, E450 [Coupes &Cabriolets]

Questions/help buying new/used 2018 E400 cabriolet

Search this Thread

Rate Thread

Old 09-05-2018, 12:10 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
2018 e 400 cabriolet
Questions/help buying new/used 2018 E400 cabriolet

I'm in the market for a new or slightly used 2018 E400 cabrio. This is my first time buying a car at this level so any/all recommendations on how to get the very best deal would be greatly appreciated!!

I realize we are approaching end of year and the 2019's will soon become available. Is it accurate to assume that if I time it right, dealers may be more incentivized to sell the old (2018) model at a steeper discount? I also wouldnt mind getting a floor model or slightly used model with some miles. I'm already seeing some on autotrader at about $10k below MSRP with 3-5k miles on them. Open to financing, leasing, or paying cash. Whichever is going to give me the very best deal.
Old 09-06-2018, 07:36 AM

Received 46 Likes on 34 Posts
2018 E400 Coupe C238
Use the builder on the website to configure an equivalent option 2019 to a 2018 on the lot and see what the differential is. Generally look at maybe 15%-18% reduction as an entry point and use the year incentives to calculate your going in price. Do the math to know what you want to pay. The dealer needs to get the model off the lot so the ploy is to pit the cost difference of new versus year end as your negotiating strategy. Used this ploy a few times over the years and always worked well for my wife & I especially on cars loaded with options or off colours people may not want.

You should wait till November December (at least in America) when the 2019's are delivered and the 2018's are overstock. Mercedes is not GM or Ford where year end massive price reductions are the norm... Geez a saw an add for a Dodge with $15k discount advertised before even walking in to the dealer.
Old 09-06-2018, 01:32 PM