E-Class (W123) 1976-1986: 240D, 280E, 300D, 300TD, 300CD

New member, new to this car, complete noob

Search this Thread

Rate Thread

Old 08-11-2011, 07:50 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
New member, new to this car, complete noob

Hi all,

So I was just sort of given a W123 by my uncle who had to leave the country for an emergency. He was a cigarette smoker, so my first order of business has been trying to get the smell out of the car. So far I've vacuumed and cleaned the interior, and used coffee grounds and vinegar, after hearing they may work, and that has helped a bit, but the 'old cigarette stuffy' smell lingers. If anyone has any suggestions, I'm all ears.

The car: Automatic '77 300d. My first diesel. My other car is a mid-90s Volvo. So I'm very new to this sort of car.

I do have a few questions.

The first question is the starting mechanism of this particular car. I'm not sure what my uncle did, but I think it was to solve an electrical problem.

https://i.imgur.com/4lr4D.jpg

Every time I start the car, I have to plug that in, turn the key to 'on,' wait for the lamp to turn off (From what I understand, waiting for this lamp to turn off is normal procedure), unplug whatever that is, and then start it.

So my question is...WHAT? Any ideas on what was done and what can be fixed to make this work? Or does this mean identifying a short somewhere, which could be a huge pain?

The second question is about the Heating/A-C system. It doesn't work at all. If I press any of the air buttons, just to turn the air vents on, nothing happens. Is this a common problem? What can I do to fix it?

Third question: The car doesn't shift very smoothly. I usually have to take my foot off the gas for it to shift, and even then it isn't very smooth. What should I look at, what could I do to improve that situation?