E-Class (W124) 1984-1995: E 260, E 300, E 320, E 420, E 500 (Includes CE, T, TD models)

Greetings / Dead Zone accelerator

Search this Thread

Rate Thread

Old 04-11-2005, 10:26 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Greetings / Dead Zone accelerator

Greetings folks.
Just picked up a Benz, just joined the list. I was a Benz mechanic through the ‘70s and early ‘80s, specializing in vintage restorations, 50’s through 70’s. Have kept semi-up to date on K and L Jetronics through the late 80s’ on other unmentionable Euro stuff.
Patient: 1990 300E, 118K, seemingly well maintained.
Recent repairs by P.O. New Oxygen sensor (2-wire), and new mixture adjustment “tower” on top of the fuel distributor. All to no avail, as far as I can tell.
Symptom(s):
1. Rough Idle
2. Mid-range hesitation/ Dead Zone, for about 1” of accelerator play, then the transmission kicks down, and it takes off like a scalded dog. Otherwise, going up a hill is a trial, the car slowing, and slowing.
I found that backing off the gas entirely, and pressing down again seems to reset the condition, and the car accelerates normally through the range that had just bogged down a minute ago.
I also noticed that, in some cases, when I backed off the gas slightly, the engine picked up Rs, and the car speeded up, kinda like it was over-carburated, overjetted, and running too rich, and by backing off, it would lean out, and run faster.
3. Idle speed does not respond to pulling the dip-stick (Should it?)
Diagnostics to date: Possible vacuum leak. By isolating circuits, one at a time, and testing with a Mity-Vac, everything seems to be responding appropriately (As far as I can tell without any manuals, schematics, resources, etc. Isolating and blocking vacuum ports one at a time didn’t help.
With engine idling, I shot all of the injectors/seals w/WD-40 to check for vacuum leaks, as well as all of the usual suspect spots.. no avail..
Actuation of EGR valve makes idle rougher.