E-Class (W124) 1984-1995: E 260, E 300, E 320, E 420, E 500 (Includes CE, T, TD models)

Sunroof trouble

Search this Thread

Rate Thread

Old 09-04-2006, 09:56 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
1995 E420 & 87 300E 218 K 97 528i 86 528e
Question Sunroof trouble

Hi I back and after fixing the power steering leak and getting the airconditioning to work I am onto a new project. the sunroof. I took off the interior piece and noted that my cable was 1. off track and 2.all twisted and bent up. so can I replace the cable without removing the headliner ? Cause that is too much for me. I am a backyard mechanic meaning i can turn a wrench but I leave the tricky stuff for the guys that are trained. So if anyone has any sugestions I would appreciate it. What it does now is will only open after I manually start it same it won't close all the way,it won't popup infact it doesnot even goflush with the roof.So I was thinking maybe switching out the cable.Thanks in advance you guys rock
Old 09-04-2006, 11:30 PM

Received 5 Likes on 5 Posts
1992 Mercedes 400E
Do you have the Mercedes CD? It shows you how to replace the cable.
Old 09-05-2006, 01:34 AM

Mercedes Benz 300E, 1991
ummmm what CD?
Old 09-05-2006, 01:48 AM

a TVR Cerbera Speed Twelve
Originally Posted by Falconeer
ummmm what CD?
http://mb.braingears.com/124_DISC2/P...semblyjobs.htm
Old 09-05-2006, 11:45 AM

'95 3.2 M104
Thumbs up

Removal

1 Unclip sun roof headlining at front with sun roof 3/4 open (4 clips).
2 Completely open sun roof.
3 Pull out sun roof headlining in forward, upward direction.
4 Check upper halves of clips on sun roof headlining.
5 Check lower halves of clips on sun roof.

Installation

6 Close sun roof and set both sliding parts horizontally.
7 Completely open sun roof.

8 Slip in sun roof headlining from front top until clips are abutting against sun roof, at the same time introducing tube into protective tube on sun roof headlining.