E-Class (W124) 1984-1995: E 260, E 300, E 320, E 420, E 500 (Includes CE, T, TD models)

AMG Bumper Question

Search this Thread

Rate Thread

Old 01-04-2007, 11:21 PM

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
1991 300E
AMG Bumper Question

I just got a AMG Gen II replica bumper... It's painted and I now need to get it onto my car. I don't have any mounting materials, such as screws, brackets, and whatnot, and I was wondering how I could go about finding someone to install it. I live in Atlanta, and if anyone knows a body shop around here that would install it I would appreciate it. Or how it is installed? I did a test-fit before I painted it and it looks fantastic. I think that it is an add-on, not a full bumper. If that is the case, what difference does that make? I think it will fit perfectly without the impact strips.
Old 01-05-2007, 12:48 AM
MBWorld Fanatic!

Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts
1990 300ce 24v I6
Im no expert, but I assume that if you remove the current bumper cover yourself you will have all the mounting materials you need right there and you will only have to swap the new one on and be done with it. Again, dont quote me on that, I havnt tried with my car yet, but that seems logical to me.
Old 01-05-2007, 03:12 AM

"88 300CE- First Year Production
what he means is that it should be a direct bolt-on.
Old 01-05-2007, 10:40 AM

S500
Hate to break it to you, but you should have fabricated some brackets before it went to paint. I would take some time and cover the painted surface with something and make up some brackets which will be glued into place. Once you take your stock bumper off you will see what is required. I've done it twice and it's not fun.
Old 01-05-2007, 12:31 PM
MBWorld Fanatic!

1990 300ce 24v I6
Yeah basically, exactly what I meant
Old 01-06-2007, 02:41 AM

1991 300E
I can't do that myself though. I have pictures of the bumper to show ya'll. I'll post them in just a second.
Old 01-06-2007, 02:58 AM

1991 300E
Originally Posted by joef