E-Class (W124) 1984-1995: E 260, E 300, E 320, E 420, E 500 (Includes CE, T, TD models)

Getting a 300TE, have a few questions

Search this Thread

Rate Thread

Old 10-23-2007, 07:45 PM
Almost a Member!

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
1996 Volvo 850 Turbo Wagon, 1991 Nissan 240sx track car
Getting a 300TE, have a few questions

I'm from the Seattle area and I am on the prowl for a decent w124 300 or E320 wagon. I plan on using it as a daily driver but I do intend to do some basic suspension modifications along the lines of springs, decent shocks and sway bars, plus some subtle wheels.
I have seen a few write-ups on upgrading sway bars so I'm not concerned about that, and I am not too worried about having to do some work since I do have experience working on cars. However, as I have zero experience working on w124s, I have a few questions. I hope they aren't too simple or easy to answer.

My first question is concerning using lowering springs and dampers designed for general use on a 300e, etc. for use on the wagon. I have seen products, both springs and dampers, that indicate they will work on a CE and E, but leave TE off of the list. I have done some searching but couldn't come up with a definitive answer. Is this simply because they don't perceive a market for wagons or because of some physical difference keeping the wagon from using those parts?

Thats the main question, but I was also curious if there are any aftermarket differential options for this car?

I'm really looking forward to getting the car. There are a few local cars I am considering right now and I plan on making a decision and purchasing one within the month.

Thanks in advance.

Regards,
Rory
Old 10-24-2007, 12:49 AM
MBWorld Fanatic!

89 300TE, and 68 280sel
I know you will love the TE, they are amazing. I don't know much personally about lowering, others will chime in on that TE subject. I think lowering a TE limits some of its practicality, but that is me.