E-Class (W124) 1984-1995: E 260, E 300, E 320, E 420, E 500 (Includes CE, T, TD models)

1992 300ce coupe

Search this Thread

Rate Thread

Old 06-08-2011, 06:34 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
1992 Mercedes Benz 300CE Coupe
1992 300ce coupe

Hi, i just purchased a 92 300ce coupe and since this is the first time i bought a car, i am a total noob regarding maintenance. I was wondering a few things:

why my ac control knobs get very hot, its as if the hot air from the engine is blowing right into it. Is this normal ?

The car came with xenon lights installed. The owner had them in the secondary inner lights or fog lights. The main light is still stock but then he told me to pull the light switch even further to turn on the main xenon lights aswell. It was working fine but then it stopped and now the turn signal lights dont come on as they usually should as well as the main xenon dont turn on as i pull the light switch to its 2nd position. Although the signal lights work when i use the indicator. Could this mean that a fuse burnt out ?

I live in jeddah, saudi arabia and we have mad traffic here. Usually im driving slow and stopping a lot so should i set my transmission swtich to E or S for this ?

These are what i can think of for now. Thanks
Old 06-08-2011, 07:59 AM

Received 13 Likes on 9 Posts
2006 C55 AMG 6 speed
I always left it in S when it was an automatic. It shifts with lesser gas input, on E it would stay as long as possible in a high gear before down shifting.

There aren't any mountains in Jeddah, though, like here. So I don't think it'll be as much of a problem.

ألف مبروك عالسيارة!

Those are fantastic cars. If you live in Jeddah, make sure your fan clutch has been replaced and always pay attention to the coolant. Those cars don't like heat much.

There are special types of coolant for high heat applications, see online what you can get. I live in Lebanon, which isn't nearly as hot but I do know Jeddah well.