E-Class (W124) 1984-1995: E 260, E 300, E 320, E 420, E 500 (Includes CE, T, TD models)

persistent leak under car

Search this Thread

Rate Thread

Old 08-20-2011, 05:58 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
2005 Mercedes-Benz E320 Wagon
Unhappy persistent leak under car

I bought my 1989 300CE last December and immediately noticed some leaks under the car. So I took it to a local independent shop that specializes in European cars. The shop fixed 3 places that were leaking--oil and transmission pans and power steering. I took it back to the shop in May because there was still a leak. The shop replaced one of the pans, but I am not sure which one. Upon returning from an overseas trip in July, I noticed it was still leaking. So I returned to the shop, which replaced a gasket under warranty. The leak is still there and seems to be getting worse rather than better. Anyone have any idea what is happening? Since I am not a mechanic and, because of a disability, cannot even get under the car except to look for oil spots on the garage floor, I can only hope the guys at this shop know what they are doing. If I hadn't already paid these people so much money, I would go somewhere else for a second opinion.
Old 08-20-2011, 07:19 PM

Received 21 Likes on 21 Posts
'90 300CE M103 Manual '93 Alfa 164 QV24 '05 Jaguar X350