E-Class (W124) 1984-1995: E 260, E 300, E 320, E 420, E 500 (Includes CE, T, TD models)

E320 Coupe handling and suspension help

Search this Thread

Rate Thread

Old 01-25-2013, 11:30 AM

Received 11 Likes on 11 Posts
94 E320 Coupe
E320 Coupe handling and suspension help

Hello I am the very happy and proud owner of a 71k mile 94 E320. I have a lot to learn but the first thing I want to address is the handling. I am a spirited driver to say the least and am not really accustomed to the boat like ride that my car has which is nice in town but not so nice when you get on it.

As far as I have read my real world choices (meaning it wont cost more than the car) are H&R springs, Bilstein shocks and swap out the sway bars.
For now I am keeping the stock wheels and tires, which are new Contis.

The H&R front springs come in two heights 1.5 and 1.3 which to get?

Shocks, I assume I should get the Bilstein B8 made for high performance.

Sway bars I am a bit confused. Choices I have read about are:

Stock
500E
Sportline coupe
Sportline sedan
Wagon
Wagon Sportline
AMG
Renntech
Limousine

Can someone help me sort this thing out?

Also do any other model Benz sway bars fit that will offer enhanced performance?

Thank you in advance.
Old 01-25-2013, 02:42 PM
MBWorld Fanatic!

Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts
1990 300ce 24v I6
I used the 1.3" ones and Koni Yellow adjustable shocks.

I installed the "limo/cabriolet" front sway and matched it with the 500e rear swaybar.

Before:

After:

I lapped faster than a 2012 Nissan GTR for 5/7 laps.
Old 01-26-2013, 06:50 AM
MBWorld Fanatic!

Received 17 Likes on 17 Posts
88-300CE TWIN TURBO, 99-C43, 05-G55K, 71-280SL, 94-E320 CAB, 08 CLK63 BLACK SERIES
For the majority of drivers the amount of body roll or lean has more to do with the driver input error as far as speed, entry/exit angle and braking in a corner, not the suspension of the car.

It's all about weight transfer due to inertia and momentum...