E-Class (W124) 1984-1995: E 260, E 300, E 320, E 420, E 500 (Includes CE, T, TD models)

NOOB / ?'s

Search this Thread

Rate Thread

Old 08-02-2004, 03:34 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
1987 300E
NOOB / ?'s

I’m a NOOB. Lurked while I owned my W115 300D I had been driving the last 3 years & recently sold.
I appreciate the knowledge being shared here & hope someone can answer a couple of questions about the W124.
I bought a 1987 300E with 91K miles. It has a solid body & clean interior. It was garage serviced but probably not as often as it should have been. It was a city car (Charlotte, NC) & only got about 5k miles a year. I started with oil & filter, & a new air filter. I plan to put in new plugs & wires next week end and change trans fluid/filter & rear diff also.

Questions:
1. Should synthetic tran fluid be used?
2. Should synthetic rear diff fluid be used?
3. At idle it misses & when you try to engage the cruise control it speeds up but doesn’t engage, vacum leak? I just drove it 400 miles today & it got 26+ MPG so I don’t think it’s running to bad while driving, just at idle.

Any suggestions appreciated. I’m very excited about this car, nice solid feel & pleasing to the eye, just needs a little TLC.
Old 08-02-2004, 04:50 PM

Received 4 Likes on 3 Posts
95 E320 Cabriolet, 108K
I'm not a big fan of synthetics, with the exception that I believe they should be used in the differential. Synthetic diff fluid will give an incremental increase in gas mileage that will offset the initial cost of the fluid. Since only 1-2 qts are used, this cost is negligible compared with engine or trans oil. I base this on the fact that the trend among manufacturers is to use synthetic for factory fill in the diff to boost CAFE measurements.

You can't go wrong with synthetic trans fluid. You're doing it yourself so you're saving lots of money to begin with.

Clean the throttle body bore. Maybe the idle will perk up. If not, hunt for a vacuum leak.