E-Class (W210) 1995-2002: E 200, E 220D, E 240, E 290TD, E 300TD, E 200, E 240, E 280, E 320, E 420, E 430 (Wagon, Touring, 4Matic)

Headlight options for factory xenons

Search this Thread

Rate Thread

Old 01-15-2012, 01:50 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
W210 E430 Sport
Headlight options for factory xenons

Hello,

I'm new to the Mercedes forums but have been around BMW's and Volkswagens for years. I've acquired a 99 E430 Sport and I'm looking to purchase the DEPO "facelift" projector headlights. Car has stock xenons using the older style original headlights that have the auto leveling. I know there is probable an OEM route to go but I can't justify spending that money on lights. Anyone aware of the workaround for this?

Thanks for any help. Looking forward to using MBWorld for future upgrades and DIY referencing.
Old 01-15-2012, 02:09 PM
MBWorld Fanatic!

Received 37 Likes on 28 Posts
2007 SL55 AMG
some people here put OEM xenon projectors into the depo headlights and end up with a nice beam pattern. Others have gone the standard route and just thrown an aftermarket HID into the depo headlights.
Old 01-15-2012, 02:16 PM

W210 E430 Sport
Well I don't want to break up the headlights.

This guy states he can offer these with built in HID's and an adapter kit to work on OEM HID setups. I just reached out to him to see how it works...

http://www.ebay.com/itm/150733731999...#ht_3375wt_905
Old 01-15-2012, 04:28 PM

W210 E300D
As to what's written in his description he'll simply insert HID bulbs + ballasts into this DEPO Halogen headlights, with the necessary resistors to fool the Bulb Check Message. This upgrade is mainly intended for the cars with Halogen headlights as stated in the description. So in reality this translates to you most likely loosing the self leveling part and unlike the MOD which requires dis-assembly you won't be getting bi-xenon or a quality projector either.