E-Class (W210) 1995-2002: E 200, E 220D, E 240, E 290TD, E 300TD, E 200, E 240, E 280, E 320, E 420, E 430 (Wagon, Touring, 4Matic)

1998 E320 4Matic: Headlights and Inside Electric Problems

Search this Thread

Rate Thread

Old 03-09-2012, 09:55 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
1998 Mercedes Benz E320 4Matic
1998 E320 4Matic: Headlights and Inside Electric Problems

Newbie here. I just bought a 1998 E320 4Matic. I am having a few problems

1. My left headlight and the smaller light next to it has condensation on the lens. On the right and left side, both headlights are impeccably clear, they have not oxidized. But the one does have the condensation on the plastic lens.
  2. The sunroof, as it goes back, stops every few inches. I had heard i must reset the sunroof. How should i go about this.
  3. The interior central locking button does not work what so ever. When i hit it down, i do hear the PSE working, but nothing happens. The locks all work perfectly from the key with no lag. However the button does not work or light up at all.
  4. The overhead map lights do not want to turn on.
Old 03-10-2012, 10:50 PM

Black 2000 E320 4Matic
1) If you mean that there is condensation in your lens you should try tightening the housing in the back (open it up as if you were going to change the bulb then close it again) if that doesn't work you might need a new housing as it is no longer air tight. It isn't a huge problem, I just try to not wash that area as long as the others.
2) The sunroof sync, you just open it and hold it for 5 seconds, then close it and hold the button for 5 seconds.
3) no idea with #3
4) Maybe your overhead map lights are burnt out or check the fuse?

Good luck!
Old 03-12-2012, 05:56 AM

E430 4-Matic and E320 4-Matic Station Wagon