E-Class (W210) 1995-2002: E 200, E 220D, E 240, E 290TD, E 300TD, E 200, E 240, E 280, E 320, E 420, E 430 (Wagon, Touring, 4Matic)

Unsure what it is

Search this Thread

Rate Thread

Old 06-13-2016, 10:41 AM

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
87 190e 2.3-16v Cosworth; 2000 E320 Saloon
Unsure what it is

So my E320 seems to have lost a step or two of power. It idles ok. but I'm starting to feel a little stutter every so often in regular acceleration. Not pronounced, a passenger wouldn't even notice but I do. Oil changes are done at proper intervals. I keep the maintenance up. It has 157k at this point. Does that sound like a Timing Chain related item?

I'm preparing for the worst as this has been my most troublesome European car to date. Not trying to get into the whole "Buy Japanese" debate as I have been driving Euros for 20 years (BMW primarily, Audi, Land Rover and now Mercedes) so I'm familiar. But my car in particular has been an overly needy Mistress so I'm on edge about it because every time I fix one thing 3 more pop up.

Any ideas on what you think my issue could be? No CELs or anything
Old 06-13-2016, 10:47 AM
MBWorld Fanatic!

Received 1,744 Likes on 1,391 Posts
1922 Ford Model T / no OBD
No CEL doesn't mean you don't have pending codes.
You need to tell more about car records.
How old are plug, MAF, CPS ?
When was the last time you replaced pilot bushing?
Old 06-13-2016, 10:50 AM

I don't have records on it but supposedly the plugs were done a couple of years ago at 130k before I bought it. Not sure on the MAF. CPS? Have not replaced the Pilot Bushing myself.
Old 06-13-2016, 11:22 AM
MBWorld Fanatic!

Received 1,744 Likes on 1,391 Posts
1922 Ford Model T / no OBD
Start with checking the codes and pulling the plug.
I bought our wagon close to 150k and having some records, I assumed plugs have been replaced.
But at 160k I was doing breather seal and pulled the plugs. THEY WERE ORIGINALS.
Funny new plugs did not change the performance, nor mpg.