E-Class (W210) 1995-2002: E 200, E 220D, E 240, E 290TD, E 300TD, E 200, E 240, E 280, E 320, E 420, E 430 (Wagon, Touring, 4Matic)

Bosh Speaker replacement

Search this Thread

Rate Thread

Old 03-02-2021, 11:01 PM

Received 38 Likes on 26 Posts
2000 C230 - 2001 E430 - 2003 E320 -
Bosh Speaker replacement

2001 E430 with Bosh factory unit. Its my oldest daughters car - and I have been doing all of the maintenance for a few years since we picked it up from a family friend. For Christmas she wanted the speakers fixed so on cyber Monday I picked up a sweet deal from Crutchfield on some infinity's.

The car has not been available until last weekend so went to work. I know there are other speaker threads so I'll keep this short and to the point.

Front Doors. Replaced with Infinity reference REF-6532ex. You use the factory boxes but do use the new cover brackets - the holes line up perfectly. You do have to cut off the small plastic tab at the box bottom (factory speakers have a slit here for alignment). Very easy replacement.
Rear Doors. Replaced with Infinity reference REF-3032cfx. This is mostly a drop in but the mounting tabs don't line up with the holes. I had to cut out the spiderweb on the factory plastic holder so the tweeters on these don't get crushed. Using the foam provided with the speakers it turns in to an easy replace and the speaker is held into the box by pressure from that plastic holder you cut the middle out of. Really only add a short time once I figured it out.
Rear Deck. Replaced with Infinity reference REF-6532ex (just like the front doors). Other than the deck being a sort of a pain to get to (use the WIS - its not that bad) the speakers are a direct drop in replacement.

I did not have to rewire anything, it was all direct connect replacement. The door panel grills cover the new speakers so it all looks stock.