E-Class (W211) 2003-2009

Bought my 1st E-class and have some questions

Search this Thread

Rate Thread

Old 04-11-2007, 06:18 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
2003 E500
Bought my 1st E-class and have some questions

Hi, Newbie here. Just purchased my first Mercedes E-Class. Until now i've been a hard core Audi, and BMW person so am now ready to try a Mercedes. A few questions.

The car I bought is a 2003 E500W with only 14K miles on it.

1. What does the "W" signify? I have no clue

2. Is there any websites that can show all the technical specs and options that were available on this car for this year? I have no idea what it comes with and the dealer doesn't either. (not buying from an Mercedes Dealer).

3. Anything I should watch out for or check on? Any advice is appreciated as I know nothing about this model car.

4. I have this Brake Service Message on? What is that about? Anything to worry about? I don't have time yet but will take it to the dealer soon. Is it safe?

5. I hear a slight ticking noise from the engine? Anything to worry about?

Thanks in advance! I actually have a million and one more questions but will try to search for the rest.
Old 04-11-2007, 08:38 AM

Received 74 Likes on 62 Posts
2008 E63 wagon (1 of 62)
Originally Posted by hawaiiannights
Hi, Newbie here. Just purchased my first Mercedes E-Class. Until now i've been a hard core Audi, and BMW person so am now ready to try a Mercedes. A few questions.

The car I bought is a 2003 E500W with only 14K miles on it.

1. What does the "W" signify? I have no clue
The "W" just means that it is a sedan.

2. Is there any websites that can show all the technical specs and options that were available on this car for this year? I have no idea what it comes with and the dealer doesn't either. (not buying from an Mercedes Dealer).